AAG Urban Geography Speciality Group

Welcome to the Urban Geography Specialty Group (UGSG). With over 1,400 members, UGSG is one of the largest of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) Specialty Groups. UGSG has come a long way since 29 urban geographers met at the 1979 AAG annual conference in Philadelphia as part of the process of gaining official recognition for the Group.

The general remit of the UGSG is to foster research in urban geography in the United States and beyond by organizing meetings and seminars, developing networks among urban geographers and other social scientists, and promoting the publication of research.

As you will see from this website, UGSG is involved in a number of activities. We sponsor many sessions at the annual AAG annual conference. We also award prizes to recognize faculty, postgraduate, and undergraduate research excellence in urban geography.

Although we no longer publish newsletters, the website contains past copies, demonstrating the contribution our group has made to the advancement to urban geography. The “History” tab details the emergence and the evolution of the UGSG over the last five decades.

Of course, we are always looking for new ways to promote and to develop urban geography. So please get in touch if you have any ideas about the UGSG (e.g., suggesting links for the website or proposing new events and activities). We would be delighted to hear from you.

Chair 
Katherine Hankins
Georgia State University
khankins@gsu.edu

Vice Chair
Anne Bonds
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
bondsa@uwm.edu

Treasurer
Pablo Bose
University of Vermont
Pablo.bose@uvm.edu

Regular Board Members 
Anna Brand
University of California, Berkeley
annalivia@berkeley.edu

Joshua Inwood
Pennsylvania State University
Jfi6@psu.edu

Christine Jocoy
California State University, Long Beach
Christine.jocoy@csulb.edu

Nate Millington
University of Manchester
nate.millington@manchester.ac.uk

Jane Zheng
Chinese University of Hong Kong
janezzn@hotmail.com

Richard Quodomine
City of Philadelphia
rdquodomine@outlook.com

Ran Tao
University of Southern California
rant@usc.edu

Student Representatives
Rachel Bok
University of British Columbia
bokrachel@gmail.com

Sarah Heck
Temple University
Tuf77752@temple.edu